Getting a traffic ticket for speeding in a work zone?
In this article, you’ll learn about:
Let’s dig in.
Let’s look at some reasons you’ll get a traffic ticket in a work zone.
You’ll get a ticket for speeding in a work zone at any speed over the posted speed limit.
But, police officers usually target you if you’re going more than 10 mph over the speed limit.
Other situations that land you with a traffic violation in a work zone are:
Non-moving violations for a work zone are:
Moving violations for a work zone are:
Speeding in a work zone is a misdemeanor or felony because you’re endangering people.
The construction workers need a safe environment to perform their work.
This is why a traffic ticket for speeding in a work zone is not a simple civil infraction.
And why you’re facing misdemeanor criminal charges instead of a citation.
Some hazards of speeding in a work area are:
The penalties for a traffic ticket for speeding in a work zone are:
Fill out the form on this page to get legal advice from a criminal defense attorney.
Our law firm gives free consultations to help you avoid work zone charges.
Here are the penalties for speeding in a work zone for every state.
|State||Speed Limit||Fine||Jail Time||Points on License||Charge|
|Alabama||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Alaska||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|Arizona||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Arkansas||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|California||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|Colorado||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Connecticut||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|Delaware||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Florida||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Georgia||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|Hawaii||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Idaho||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|Illinois||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Indiana||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Iowa||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|Kansas||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Kentucky||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|Louisiana||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Maine||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Maryland||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|Massachusetts||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Michigan||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|Minnesota||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Mississippi||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Missouri||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|Montana||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Nebraska||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|Nevada||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|New Hampshire||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|New Jersey||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|New Mexico||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|New York||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|North Carolina||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|North Dakota||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Ohio||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|Oklahoma||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Oregon||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|Pennsylvania||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Rhode Island||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|South Carolina||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|South Dakota||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Tennessee||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|Texas||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Utah||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Vermont||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
|Virginia||15 mph||$500||30 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Washington||20 mph||$500||0 days||4||Misdemeanor|
|West Virginia||25 mph||$300||15 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Wisconsin||30 mph||$500||5 days||None||Misdemeanor|
|Wyoming||35 mph||$1,000||30 days||None||Felony|
These are the fines you could face for
Speeding in a work zone will lead to getting points on your driver’s license.
If you get caught speeding in a work zone, you are likely to get at least 2 points on your license.
But you can get more than 6 points added to your driving record if you’re going super fast.
Let’s look at how many points you’ll get vs to how much over the speed limit you’re going.
We will break this down as “Speed Over Limit” and Points:
There are also specific state laws you need to be aware of.
Let’s look at the New York state DMV.
They give additional fines to drivers who receive 6+ points in an 18-month period.
Driving 15 mph over the posted speed limit in most states results in license suspension.
License suspensions include:
How long your suspended license lasts depends on the traffic laws in your state.
Getting a traffic ticket in a construction zone will increase your insurance rates.
For speeding in a work zone, insurance companies will increase your:
This is because they consider a work zone speeding ticket a more serious offense.
This increase in rates and premiums can range from 10-25%.
Additionally, you may face:
You’ll face higher insurance premiums and rates for work zone speeding violations.
But you can also face other fees, like:
It is important to obey the speed limit in construction zones.
It can save you money, keep you safe, and keep construction workers safe.
You should obey the speed limits in work zones to avoid getting a traffic ticket.
The speed limit is often lower in work zones.
Make sure that you:
Obeying the speed limits in work zones is the best way to avoid getting a traffic ticket.
Here are some things motorists should avoid doing in a work area:
If you are convicted of speeding in a work zone, fill out the form on this page.
Our law firm has the experience you need to defend your rights.
This way, you don’t:
You deserve a fair trial in the criminal justice system.
Out traffic lawyers can provide you with that.