The Hive Law

How Old Do You Have To Be To Get Married?

Legal Marriage Age By State - How Old Do You Have To Be To Get Married

How old do you have to be to get married in the US?

This article is covering:

  • how old you have to be to get married without parental consent
  • how young you can get married with consent from parents
  • what the average age of marriage is in the US
  • the legal marriage age by state
  • the minimum marriage age for each state

Let’s dig in.

The Hive Law Has Been Featured In

Key Statistics For Marriage Ages By State

Let’s look at some key statistics for how old you have to be to get married.

  • Of the 250,000 minors married between 2000-2010, 85% (212,500) were girls.
  • For 96% of states, 18 years old is the age of consent for marriage in the US.
  • 12% of states allow children to get married younger than 16 years old with consent.
  • 86% of states allow children 16 and younger to get married with parental consent.
  • 6% of states don’t allow children to get married under the age of 18 even with consent.
  • 8% of states allow children to get married at 17 years old with consent.
  • 4% of states allow children to get married at ANY age with parental consent.
  • Mississippi and California allow children to get married at ANY age with consent.
  • Children can get married as young as 15 years old WITHOUT consent in Mississippi.
  • Children can get married as young as 13 years old with consent in New Hampshire.
  • Nebraska is the only state where the legal age to get married is 19.

How Old Do You Have To Be To Get Married?

You have to be 18 years old to get married in the US without parental consent.

The only state where you cannot legally get married at 18 is Nebraska.

You have to be 19 years old to get married in Nebraska.

And you can get married at 15 years old in Mississippi without parental consent.

Legal Marriage Age By State

This chart shows the legal marriage ages by state.

These minimum ages are the ages you can get married WITHOUT parental consent.

Per marriage laws, parental consent has to be from a parent or legal guardian.

Unless you meet these legal marriage ages in your state of residence.

Minimum Age For Marriage By State

This chart shows the minimum age for marriage by state.

These minimum ages are the ages you can get married WITH parental consent.

Per marriage laws, parental consent has to be from a parent or legal guardian.

That’s because the courts are issuing a marriage license for child marriages.

StateMinimum Age For Marriage By State
Legal Marriage Age By State
Alabama1618
Alaska1618
Arizona1618
Arkansas1718
California018
Colorado1618
Connecticut1618
Delaware1818
Florida1718
Georgia1618
Hawaii1518
Idaho1618
Illinois1618
Indiana1718
Iowa1618
Kansas1518
Kentucky1818
Louisiana1618
Maine1618
Maryland1818
Massachusetts1818
Michigan1618
Minnesota1818
Mississippi015
Missouri1518
Montana1618
Nebraska1719
Nevada1718
New Hampshire1318
New Jersey1818
New Mexico1518
New York1818
North Carolina1618
North Dakota1618
Ohio1618
Oklahoma1618
Oregon1718
Pennsylvania1818
Rhode Island1618
South Carolina1618
South Dakota1618
Tennessee1718
Texas1618
Utah1618
Vermont1618
Virginia1618
Washington1718
West Virginia1618
Wisconsin1618
Wyoming1618

What Age Can You Get Married In Alabama?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Alabama.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Alabama.

What Age Can You Get Married In Alaska?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Alaska.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Alaska.

There is an exception for US military service members under the age of 18 years old.

These individuals can get married under the age of 18 without parental consent.

With judicial approval, children starting at 14 years old can get married.

Judicial consent is required to make sure the marriage is in the best interest of the child.

What Age Can You Get Married In Arizona?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Arizona.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Arizona.

To get married at 16 and 17 years old in Arizona, the minor must:

  • get parental consent
  • be emancipated
  • be marrying someone no more than 3 years older

What Age Can You Get Married In Arkansas?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Arkansas.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Arkansas.

To prove consent, the children need to have an affidavit:

  • signed by the parents or legal guardians
  • notarized by a public notary

Judicial approval in Arkansas is based on:

  • the parents being fit to make decisions concerning the child
  • the marriage is in the child’s best interest

What Age Can You Get Married In California?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in California.

With parental consent, you can get married at 0 years old in California.

There are no age limits to marriage as long as a minor has consent from their parents.

To prove consent in California, the children need to have an affidavit:

  • signed by the parents or legal guardians
  • notarized by a public notary
  • signed in front of the Clerk of the Courts

The partners and the minor’s parents have to meet with court officials.

These court officials must rule out abuse or coercion.

There is a 30-day waiting period for minors.

This waiting period can get bypassed if they are seventeen and have graduated high school.

Or one of the partners is pregnant.

What Age Can You Get Married In Colorado?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Colorado.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Colorado.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Colorado if:

  • there is parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • there is no more than a 3 year age gap

What Age Can You Get Married In Connecticut?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Connecticut.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Connecticut.

In Connecticut, the judicial courts will issue a marriage license to a child if:

  • the parent or legal guardian petitions the courts
  • the minor consents and understands the consequences of marriage
  • the minor has the capacity to make such decisions
  • the minor’s decision is voluntary and free of coercion
  • the marriage is not detrimental to the minor

What Age Can You Get Married In Delaware?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Delaware.

With parental consent, you cannot get married under the age of 18 in Delaware.

Minors cannot get married.

Governor Carney updated Section 123 to eliminate the marriage of minors.

What Age Can You Get Married In Florida?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Florida.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Florida.

A child can get married at 17 years old in Florida if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • there is no more than a 2 year age gap

What Age Can You Get Married In Georgia?

The legal age of consent in Georgia for marriage is 18 years old.

Can you get married at 16 and 17 years old in Georgia? Yes, you can, but you need to:

  • get parental consent
  • be emancipated
  • complete a premarital education course

To get married at 16 and 17 in Georgia, the spouse cannot be more than 4 years older.

What Age Can You Get Married In Hawaii?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Hawaii.

With parental consent, you can get married at 15 years old in Hawaii.

A child can get married at 15 years old in Hawaii if there:

  • is parental consent
  • is judicial consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child

What Age Can You Get Married In Idaho?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Idaho.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Idaho.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Idaho if:

  • there is parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • there is no more than a 3 year age gap

What Age Can You Get Married In Illinois?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Illinois.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Illinois.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Illinois if:

  • there is parental consent
  • there is judicial consent

What Age Can You Get Married In Indiana?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Indiana.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Indiana.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Indiana if:

  • there is parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • there is approval from a juvenile court judge
  • there is no more than a 4 year age gap

What Age Can You Get Married In Iowa?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Iowa.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Iowa.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Iowa if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • there is approval from a juvenile court judge

What Age Can You Get Married In Kansas?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Kansas.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Kansas.

A child can get married at 15 years old in Kansas if:

  • there is parental consent
  • there is judicial approval
  • it’s in the best interest of the child

What Age Can You Get Married In Kentucky?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Kentucky.

With parental consent, a 17-year-old can get married in Kentucky.

A child can get married at 17 years old in Kentucky if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is written approval from a juvenile court judge

What Age Can You Get Married In Louisiana?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Louisiana.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Louisiana.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Louisiana if:

  • there is parental consent
  • there is judicial authorization
  • there is no more than a 3 year age gap

What Age Can You Get Married In Maine?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Maine.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Maine.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Maine if:

  • there is parental consent
  • there is judicial authorization

What Age Can You Get Married In Maryland?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Maryland.

Maryland banned the marriage of minors in 2022.

Previously, with parental consent, you can get married at 15 years old in Maryland.

Maryland used to be a haven for minors to get married.

What Age Can You Get Married In Massachusetts?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Massachusetts.

Massachusetts’ Gov Charlie Baker banned the marriage of minors in 2022.

Previously, with parental consent, you can get married at 14 years old in Massachusetts.

What Age Can You Get Married In Michigan?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Michigan.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Michigan.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years of age in Michigan if:

  • there is written parental consent from one parent

What Age Can You Get Married In Minnesota?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Massachusetts.

Massachusetts’ Gov Walz banned the marriage of minors in 2020.

Previously, with parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Massachusetts.

What Age Can You Get Married In Mississippi?

Without parental consent for marriage in Mississippi:

  • males can get married at 17 years of age
  • females can get married at 15 years of age

If the person is under the age of 21, the courts will:

  • make the parties wait 3 days until they issue the marriage license
  • notify the parents or legal guardians of each party

With parental consent, the juvenile courts can waive the minimum age requirements.

This means, with consent from parents, a child of any age can get married in Mississippi.

What Age Can You Get Married In Missouri?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Missouri.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Missouri.

A child can get married at 16 years old in Missouri if:

  • there is parental consent from one parent
  • the spouse is 21 years of age or younger

Previously, minors could get married at 15 years old.

But Gov Mike Parson banned children under 16 years old from getting married in 2018.

Missouri’s legal age for marriage without parental consent is 18 years of age.

What Age Can You Get Married In Montana?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Montana.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Montana.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Montana if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • they attend two separate counseling sessions
  • there is approval from a juvenile court judge

No one under the age of 15 can get legally married.

What Age Can You Get Married In Nebraska?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 19 years old in Nebraska.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Nebraska.

What Age Can You Get Married In Nevada?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Nevada.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Nevada.

A child can get married at 17 years old in Nevada if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • there is a court order from a juvenile court judge

Pregnancy alone does not establish marriage as being in “the best interest of the child.”

What Age Can You Get Married In New Hampshire?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in New Hampshire.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in New Hampshire.

Previously, with parental consent for marriage in New Hampshire:

  • males could get married at 14 years of age
  • females could get married at 13 years of age

Gov Chris Sununu signed a bill into law that raised that age to 16 starting in 2019.

What Age Can You Get Married In New Jersey?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in New Jersey.

Anyone under the age of 18 cannot get married in New Jersey, even with parental consent.

Previously, with parental consent, you could get married at 16 years old in New Jersey.

In 2018, Gov Phil Murphy signed Senate Bill No. 427 which banned child marriages.

What Age Can You Get Married In New Mexico?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in New Mexico.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in New Mexico.

A child can get married at 15 years old in New Mexico if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is a court order from a family division of the district court

Marriages of minors under 15 years old are automatically voided.

What Age Can You Get Married In New York?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in New York.

Anyone under the age of 18 cannot get married in New York, even with parental consent.

Previously, with parental consent, you could get married at 17 years old in New York.

In 2021, Gov Cuomo signed a bill that banned child marriages.

Previously, minors could get married at 17 with:

  • written parental consent
  • a court order from a family division of district court

Now, no one under the age of 18 can get married in New York.

In 2017, Gov Cuomo signed a bill that banned marriages under the age of 17.

Previously, minors could get married at 14 with:

  • written parental consent
  • a court order from a family division of district court

What Age Can You Get Married In North Carolina?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in North Carolina.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in North Carolina.

A child can get married at 14 years old in North Carolina if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • there is a court order from a juvenile court judge
  • there is no more than a 4 year age gap
  • a pregnancy is involved

What Age Can You Get Married In North Dakota?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in North Dakota.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in North Dakota if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is a court order from a juvenile court judge

What Age Can You Get Married In Ohio?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Ohio.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Ohio if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is a court order from a juvenile court judge
  • there is no more than a 4 year age gap

A girl can get married at 16 in Ohio if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is judicial consent
  • there is no more than a 4 year age gap
  • a pregnancy is involved

What Age Can You Get Married In Oklahoma?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Oklahoma.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Oklahoma if:

  • there is written parental consent

  • there is a court order from a juvenile court judge

A girl can get married under the age of 16 in Oklahoma if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is judicial consent
  • there is no more than a 4 year age gap
  • a pregnancy is involved

What Age Can You Get Married In Oregon?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Oregon.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Oregon if:

  • there is written parental consent

What Age Can You Get Married In Pennsylvania?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Pennsylvania.

Anyone under the age of 18 cannot get married in Pennsylvania, even with parental consent.

Previously, with parental consent, you could get married at 16 years old in Pennsylvania.

In 2020, Gov Wolf signed HB 360 which banned child marriages.

What Age Can You Get Married In Rhode Island?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Rhode Island.

Anyone under the age of 18 cannot get married in Rhode Island, even with parental consent.

Previously, with parental consent, you could get married at 16 years old in Rhode Island.

In 2021, Gov McKee signed HB 5387 which banned child marriages.

What Age Can You Get Married In South Carolina?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in South Carolina.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in South Carolina if:

  • there is written parental consent

What Age Can You Get Married In South Dakota?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in South Dakota.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in South Dakota if:

  • there is written parental consent

What Age Can You Get Married In Tennessee?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Tennessee.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Tennessee.

A child can get married at 17 years old in Tennessee if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is no more than a 4 year age gap

What Age Can You Get Married In Texas?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Texas.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Texas.

A child can get married at 17 years old in Texas if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is judicial consent from the courts
  • the minor gets emancipated

Previously, with parental consent, you could get married at 14 years old in Texas.

In 2020, Gov Abbott signed SB 1705 which banned marriage under 16 years of age.

What Age Can You Get Married In Utah?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Utah.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Utah.

A child can get married at 16 and 17 years old in Utah if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • it’s in the best interest of the child
  • they attend counseling sessions
  • there is approval from a juvenile court judge
  • there is no more than a 7-year age gap

No one under the age of 16 can get legally married in Utah.

What Age Can You Get Married In Vermont?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Vermont.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Vermont if:

What Age Can You Get Married In Virginia?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Virginia.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Virginia if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • the minor gets emancipated

What Age Can You Get Married In Washington?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Washington.

With parental consent, you can get married at 17 years old in Washington if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is approval from the courts

What Age Can You Get Married In West Virginia?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in West Virginia.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in West Virginia.

A minor can get married under the age of 16 in West Virginia if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is approval from the courts

There is no minimum age limit for how young a child can get married in West Virginia.

What Age Can You Get Married In Wisconsin?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Wisconsin.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Wisconsin.

What Age Can You Get Married In Wyoming?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in Wyoming.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Wyoming.

A minor can get married under the age of 16 in Wyoming if:

  • there is written parental consent
  • there is approval from the courts

The banning of child marriages failed in the Wyoming House in 2019.

What Age Can You Get Married In The District of Columbia?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 18 years old in the District of Columbia.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in the District of Columbia.

What Age Can You Get Married In Puerto Rico?

Without parental consent, you can get married at 21 years old in Puerto Rico.

With parental consent, you can get married at 16 years old in Puerto Rico.

FAQs About How Old Do You Have To Be To Get Married

Here are some frequently asked questions we get around how old you  to be to get married. 

What Is The Average Age To Get Married In The US?

The average age to get married in the US is 28 years old.

What Is A Good Age To Get Married?

The best age to get married is between 28 and 32 years old.

These ages have the lowest divorce rates.

What States Can You Marry At 12?

The states where you can get married at 12 are California and Mississippi.

There are no age limits for getting married in these states if you have:

  • parental consent
  • judicial consent
  • proved there is no abuse or coercion involved

Can You Get Married At 13?

You can get married at 13 years old in New Hampshire with parental consent.

The legal age you can get married without consent in the US is 18 years old.

Most states follow this law.

What States Can You Marry At 14?

The states where you can get married at 12 are:

  • New Hampshire
  • California
  • Mississippi

Can You Get Married At 15?

Yes, you can get married at 15 in states that allow minors to marry at 15.

The states where you can get married at 15 are:

  • New Hampshire
  • California
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Kansas
  • Hawaii

Can You Get Married At 16?

Yes, you can get married at 16 in states that allow minors to marry at 16.

There are currently 34 states that allow minors to get married at 16.

Where Can You Get Married At 16 Without Parental Consent?

You can get married at 16 without parental consent in:

  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Oklahoma

These states allow you to get married without parental consent if you’re a:

  • pregnant teen
  • teen who has already had a child

Can A 16 Year Old Marry A 20 Year Old?

With parental consent, a 16-year-old can marry a 20-year-old.

The states that enforce a minimum 3-year age gap are:

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Idaho
  • Lousiana

A 16-year-old cannot marry a 20-year-old in these states.

And there are 16 states that don’t allow anyone under the age of 17 to get married.

Can You Get Married At 17?

Yes, you can get married at 17, but you have to have parental consent.

Only 8 states don’t allow you to get married at 17, even with parental consent.

Can You Get Married At 17 Without Parental Consent?

No, you cannot get married at 17 without parental consent.

You have to be an adult to sign a legally binding document.

This means you have to have parental consent to get married if you’re 17.

Because a marriage license is a legally binding document.

Can You Get Married At 18?

Yes, you can get married at 18 without parental consent.

Can An 18 Year Old Marry A 15 Year Old?

Yes, an 18-year-old can marry a 15-year-old.

But only if your state allows 15-year-olds to get married with parental consent.

Can You Get Married At 18 Without Parental Consent?

Yes, you can get married at 18 without parental consent.

The only state you cannot get married at 18 without consent is Nebraska.

Lowest Age Of Consent State

The lowest age of consent states for marriage are California and Mississippi.

There are no minimum age limits for these states.

A minor could get married at 0, making them the lowest age of consent states.

Can You Get Married In A Different State?

Yes, you can get married in a different state.

Most states do not require you to be a resident of the state to get married.

All you have to do is meet the marriage requirements for the different states.

You can search “Marriage Laws in [State]” to find the requirements.

How Old Do You Have To Be To Get Engaged?

You can get engaged at any age.

Getting engaged is not a legal arrangement.

The only reason you have to wait to get married is that minors can sign contracts.

And marriage is a legally binding contract.

But, there are no contracts with engagement, so you can get engaged at any age.

Get A FREE Consultation!
We run out of free consultations every month. Sign up to make sure you get your free consultation. (Free $350 value.)
Share This Post With Someone Who Needs To See It

Other Studies, Laws, And Statistics