The Hive Law

Mississippi Car Seat Laws (How To Avoid Injuries, Death, And Lawsuits)

Mississippi Car Seat Laws - Car Seat Laws In Mississippi - Booster Seat Age Mississippi - Mississippi Booster Seat Laws - Mississippi Rear Facing Car Seat Laws - Mississippi Car Seat Laws Height And Weight

In this article, you’ll learn about:

  • Mississippi’s car seat laws
  • the penalties for breaking those laws
  • what age, weight, and height to change your child’s car seat

Let’s dig in.

Table of Contents

The Hive Law Has Been Featured In

Have you or your child been hurt in a car accident in Mississippi?

Navigating car accidents with your child can be overwhelming, scary, and uncertain.

Fill out the form on this page for a free consultation.

Our personal injury lawyers have the experience to:

  • make sure your child is medically taken care of
  • making sure you don’t have to come out of pocket for those medical bills

Get A FREE Consultation!

We run out of free consultations every month. Sign up to make sure you get your free consultation. (Free $350 value.)

Key Statistics For Mississippi Car Seat Laws

  • Car accidents are the leading cause of death for children ages 3 to 14 years of age.
  • 37% of child deaths are from car accidents.
  • Children account for 7% of car accident deaths.
  • 515 kids under the age of 13 were killed in car accidents last year.
  • 330 lives were saved by car seats and booster seats.
  • 1.07 kids per 100,000 kids die in car accidents.
  • 123,000 kids were injured in car accidents last year.
  • An infant’s (<1-year-old) risk of death drops 71% if car seats are properly used.
  • A toddler’s (1 – 4 years old) risk of death drops 54% if car seats are properly used.
  • Booster seats reduce the risk of serious injuries by 45% compared to seatbelts alone.
  • 26% of children killed in an accident were not in an integrated child seat.
  • 65% of children killed in an accident were not restrained in an age-appropriate seat.

Mississippi Car Seat Laws

Mississippi car seat laws require children under 8 years old to be in a child restraint device.

Child restraint devices are either:

  • rear-facing car seats
  • forward-facing car seats
  • booster seats

Children that are 4 – 12 years old can use a booster seat.

Children that are 8+ years old can sit in the back seat with just a seat belt.

They can only sit in the back seat at 8 years of age if they exceed:

  • height of booster seats
  • weights of booster seats

You should follow the weight and height recommendations from car seat manufacturers.

They design their car seats based on height and weight, not age.

Following these car seat guidelines will make sure your child is safe in a car accident.

The Mississippi Highway Patrol (MHP) enforces:

  • safety belt laws
  • car seat safety
  • child passenger safety
  • restraint laws

Penalties For Breaking Mississippi Car Seat Requirements

The penalty for breaking car seat laws in Mississippi is a non-moving traffic infraction.

The penalty includes:

  • a fine of up to $25
  • No points on your driver’s license

Car Seat Laws In Mississippi

 Beginning AgeAge LimitBeginning WeightWeight LimitBeginning HeightHeight Limit
Rear Facing Seats0 years old3 years old4 lbs30 lbs19 inches37 inches
Forward Facing Seats1 years old7 years old20 lbs50 lbs30 inches48 inches
Booster Seats4 years old12 years old35 lbs90 lbs40 inches59 inches

Car Seat Weight Chart

Here is a car seat weight chart for Mississippi’s car seat laws.

Car Seat Weight Chart - Rear Facing Car Seat Weights - Forward Facing Car Seat Weights - Weight Limit For A Booster Seat

Car Seat Age Chart

Here is a car seat age chart for Mississippi’s car seat laws.

Car Seat Age Chart - Rear Facing Car Seat Ages - Front Facing Car Seat Ages - Booster Car Seat Ages

When To Change Your Car Seat

You should change your car seat once your child exceeds the:

  • height limit, or;
  • weight limit.

Whichever one happens first.

A child’s age doesn’t necessarily a deciding factor.

Your child could be smaller than average for their age.

Moving them into the next type of car seat could put them in danger of serious injuries.

This is especially true if they don’t meet the height or weight requirements.

This is because car manufacturers design car seats around height and weight.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

The NHTSA recommends that all children under the age of 13:

  • sit in the back seat of the car
  • use an appropriate car seat for their height, weight, and age

In general, the NHTSA guidelines state that:

  • infants and toddlers should use rear-facing car seats
  • 2 – 4-year-olds should use forward-facing car seats
  • 4 – 8-year-olds should use a booster seat
  • 8+-year-olds should use a seatbelt

Note that these are not the state of Mississippi statutes on car seat laws.

The NHTSA provides guidance to Mississippi for:

  • development of child car seat laws
  • child car seat law enforcement strategies

They work with the American Academy Of Pediatrics to come up with these guidelines.

The NHTSA makes sure that child car seats:

  • are crash tested
  • are federally approved child restraint devices
  • minimize serious injury in young children
  • follow Mississippi state laws for child restraint systems

Rear Facing Car Seat Laws In Mississippi

To meet the rear-facing car seat requirements, a child should:

  • be at least 1 year old
  • meet the height requirements (30 inches)
  • meet the weight requirements (20 lbs)

These are the minimum weight and height requirements to put a child in a rear-facing car seat.

The NHTSA recommends you hit the limits of a rear-facing car seat before turning them around.

This would mean that you keep them rear-facing until they are at:

  • 30 lbs for weight
  • 37 inches in height

Types Of Rear-Facing Car Seats

The types of rear-facing car seats are:

  • Infant-Only Rear-Facing Car Seats: for infants and provide the most protection.
  • Convertible Rear-Facing Car Seats: infants and toddlers, rear-facing and forward-facing.
  • All-In-One Rear-Facing Car Seats: rear-facing, forward-facing, and booster seat.
  • 3-in-1 Rear-Facing Car Seats: all-in-one plus a toddler booster mode.

Rear Facing Car Seat Ages

The rear-facing car seat ages in Mississippi is infants and toddlers up to 3 years old.

Rear Facing Car Seat Heights

The rear-facing car seat heights in Mississippi are up to 37 inches.

Rear Facing Car Seat Weights

The rear-facing car seat weights in Mississippi are up to 30 lbs.

What Is An Infant Car Seat Weight Limit?

The infant car seat weight limit is up to 30 lbs.

When To Forward Face A Car Seat

You should forward face a car seat when a child reaches 30 lbs or 37 inches.

These are the rear-facing car seat’s:

  • height limits
  • weight limits

Rear Facing Car Seat Height Limit

For infants, the rear-facing car seat height limit is 37”.

But some rear-facing car seats are convertible car seats.

Meaning that you can spin them around from rear-facing to forward-facing.

Forward-Facing Car Seat Requirements

To meet the forward-facing car seat requirements, a child should:

  • be at least 1 year old
  • meet the height requirements (30 inches)
  • meet the weight requirements (20 lbs)

These are the minimum weight and height requirements to put a child in a front-facing car seat.

The NHTSA recommends you hit the limits of a rear-facing car seat before turning them around.

This would mean that you turn them around at either:

  • 30 lbs for weight
  • 37 inches in height

The child also needs to be able to sit upright without assistance from the car seat.

This makes sure that:

  • the child is properly secured
  • the seat minimizes neck and spine injuries
  • the child can comfortably sit in the seat

You should install your car seat based on your manufacturer’s recommendations.

And follow Mississippi’s car seat laws.

Types Of Front Facing Car Seats

Front-facing car seats are essential for keeping children safe when riding in a car.

The two most common types of front-facing car seats are the:

  • forward-facing car seat
  • convertible car seat

The convertible car seat can be in both the:

  • forward-facing position
  • rear-facing position

Convertible car seats are great for:

  • kids transitioning from rear-facing to front-facing positions
  • families that need to use both front and rear-facing positions

Both types of front-facing car seats have:

  • a higher back
  • a five-point harness system

Front Facing Car Seat Ages

The front-facing car seat ages in Mississippi are 1 to 7 years old.

Front Facing Car Seat Heights

The front-facing car seat heights in Mississippi are 30 to 48 inches.

This is based on the average heights for the weight ranges for forward-facing car seats.

Forward Facing Car Seat Weights

The front-facing car seat weights in Mississippi are 20 to 50 lbs.

When To Turn A Car Seat Around

You should turn a car seat around when a child reaches 30 lbs or 48 inches.

These are the rear-facing car seat’s:

  • height limits
  • weight limits

When Can A Baby’s Car Seat Face Forward?

Most babies can safely ride forward-facing once they:

  • are at least two years old
  • weigh at least 30 lbs
  • are at least 48 inches tall

You should consult the car seat’s instructions.

These will give you proper car seat installation instructions.

And will tell you when a baby’s car seat can face forward.

When Can A Child Use A Booster Seat In Mississippi?

A child can use a booster seat in Mississippi once they exceed either:

  • the height of forward-facing car seats (48”)
  • the weight of forward-facing car seats (50 lbs)

Mississippi Booster Seat Requirements

A child booster seat is a car seat designed to help children sit in the right position in a car.

It helps raise a child so that the seat belt fits properly across their chest and hips.

A booster seat helps to protect a child in the event of a crash.

To meet the booster seat requirements, a child should:

  • be at least 4 years old
  • meet the height requirements (40 inches)
  • meet the weight requirements (35 lbs)

These are the minimum weight and height requirements to put a child in a front-facing car seat.

The NHTSA recommends you hit the limits of a booster seat before turning them around.

This would mean that you turn them around at either:

  • 50 lbs for weight
  • 48 inches in height

The child also needs to be able to sit upright without assistance from the car seat.

This makes sure that:

  • the child is properly secured
  • the seat minimizes neck and spine injuries
  • the child can comfortably sit in the seat

You should install your booster seat based on your manufacturer’s recommendations.

And follow Mississippi’s car seat laws.

Booster Seat Laws

In Mississippi, booster seat laws are in place to ensure children’s safety while riding in a vehicle.

Booster seats raise children to the correct height to use a seatbelt.

Seatbelts get designed to protect adults.

And booster seats get used to adjusting the seatbelt to fit a child’s body.

Booster seat laws in Mississippi require that children must be in a booster seat if:

  • they are between 50 lbs and 90 lbs
  • they are between 48″ and 59″ tall

Parents should understand and follow the booster seat laws in Mississippi.

This will ensure the safety of their children.

It ensures that the seat belt fits the child properly.

And it will reduce serious bodily injuries in a car accident.

Booster seats help distribute the impact of a car crash better than a seat belt alone.

Following Mississippi’s booster seat laws will reduce the risk of injury or death in a crash.

Types Of Booster Seats

The types of booster seats available on the market are:

  • High-Back Booster Seat: provides a high back for extra support and comfort.
  • Backless Booster Seats: are lightweight and portable.
  • Combination Seats: a high-back booster seat with a 5-point harness for additional safety.
  • All-in-One Seats: converts from a high-back to a backless seat.
  • Harness-to-Booster Seats: can be used as both a forward-facing and a booster seat.
  • Portable Booster Seats: is designed for traveling and is easily portable.

Booster Car Seat Ages

The booster seat ages in Mississippi are 4 to 12 years old.

Height Requirement For Booster Seats

The booster seat heights in Mississippi are 40 to 59 inches.

This is based on the average height for booster seats’ weight ranges.

Booster Seat Weight Requirements

The booster seat weights in Mississippi are 35 to 90 lbs.

High Back Booster Seat Requirements

High-back booster seats get designed to provide support to a child’s:

  • neck
  • head
  • torso

High-back booster seats get used to transition from a car seat to a seatbelt.

To ensure optimal safety, high-back booster seats must meet the following requirements:

  1. The child must be at least 4 years old and 35 lbs.
  2. The child must be at least 40” tall to fit properly in the booster seat.
  3. They must sit with their back against the backrest.
  4. The shoulder belt should get positioned across the center of the shoulder.
  5. The lap belt should get positioned low and snug across the hips, not the stomach.
  6. The booster seat must get installed and used per the manufacturer’s instructions.

Height And Weight For Booster Seat

The height and weight for a booster seat are:

  • weight: 35 lbs to 90 lbs
  • height: 40 inches to 59 inches

Weight Limit For A Booster Seat

The weight limit for a booster seat is 90 lbs.

When Can A Child Stop Using A Booster Seat?

A child can stop using a booster seat in Mississippi when they:

  • are more than 90 lbs
  • are taller than 59 inches
  • are 12 years old

Your child can stop using their booster seat in Mississippi when any of these occur.

When Can Kids Sit In The Front Seat In Mississippi

Kids can sit in the front seat in Mississippi when they are 13 years old.

Just make sure that they follow the seat belt laws in Mississippi.

How Old Do You Have To Be To Sit In The Front Seat?

You must be 13 years old in Mississippi to sit in the front seat.

How Tall To Sit In The Front Seat?

Children over 59” tall can sit in the front seat in Mississippi.

Mississippi Penal Code (§ 63-7-301)

This is from the Mississippi Penal Codes on child passenger safety laws:

  • All children under the age of 8 must be in a child safety seat.
  • Children under the age of 5 must be in a rear-facing car seat.
  • Children between the ages of 5 and 8 must be in a forward-facing car seat.
  • Children between the ages of 8 and 16 must be in a booster seat.
  • All safety seats must be properly secured according to manufacturer instructions.
  • All children must be secured in the back seat of the vehicle.
  • All drivers are required to ensure that all passengers are properly restrained.

FAQs About Mississippi Car Seat Laws

These are other questions that clients ask us about Mississippi’s car seat laws. 

What Car Seat Should A 4-Year-Old Be In?

A 4-year-old can either be in a forward-facing car seat or a booster seat.

Which car seat a 4-year-old should be in depends on height and weight.

They should be in a forward-facing seat if they are:

  • less than 35 lbs
  • shorter than 40”

But, they can move up to a booster seat if they are:

  • more than 35 lbs
  • taller than 40”

Can A 4-Year-Old Sit In A Booster Seat?

Yes, a 4-year-old can be in a booster seat if they are:

  • more than 35 lbs
  • taller than 40”

How Long Are Car Seats Good For?

Child car seats are good for up to 6 years.

This is because their materials degrade over time.

The plastics and foams will weaken from:

  • UV radiation
  • extreme temperatures (heat in the summer)
  • natural wear and tear

Expiration dates on car seats ensure that the seat is safe to use.

Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney In Mississippi

If your child was injured in a car accident in Mississippi, fill out the form on this page.

Our personal injury attorneys have the experience you need to:

  • make sure your child is medically taken care of
  • making sure you don’t have to come out of pocket for those medical bills

Your family and your children deserve help. 

We can provide you with that.

Talk soon.

Get A FREE Consultation!

We run out of free consultations every month. Sign up to make sure you get your free consultation. (Free $350 value.)

Share This Post With Someone Who Needs To See It