The Hive Law

What States Is Weed Legal In?

What States Is Weed Legal - States Where Weed Is Legal - Weed Legal States - States That Legalized Weed

In what states is weed legal?

This article will cover what states weed is legal in.

And what states are standing their ground with the most strict weed laws.

Let’s dig in.

Get A FREE Consultation!
We run out of free consultations every month. Sign up to make sure you get your free consultation. (Free $350 value.)

The legalization of marijuana is a big initiative.

The House is pushing to have marijuana decriminalized on a federal level.

The Marijuana Opportunity Reinvestment and Expungement Act is in the Senate.

The MORE Act would legalize marijuana on a federal level.

And it would expunge the records of non-violent cannabis offenders.

Last year, the states that legalized weed earned nearly $15 billion in revenue.

What States Have Legalized Recreational Marijuana?

The number of recreational weed states continues to increase.

New York was the 15th state to legalize recreational marijuana.

But they did not offer recreational dispensaries until early 2022.

There’s still a ton of debate about marijuana legalities.

Opponents of legalizing recreational weed say it poses a public health and safety risk.

Some are even morally against having recreational marijuana legalized.

Proponents say it’s not as dangerous as alcohol consumption.

And that it gives users medical benefits, such as stress and pain relief.

Advocates of marijuana legalization are in it for the social justice initiatives.

How many people are in jail for weed is disproportionate to minorities.

And marijuana convictions lead to felons not getting to vote.

Legal Marijuana States - Recreational Weed States - Where Is Weed Legal - States That Legalized Weed

How Many States Have Legalized Weed?

19 states have legalized weed for recreational use.

39 states have legalized medical marijuana for medical use.

Medical Marijuana States

Let’s look at the states where medical marijuana is legal.

The following states are medical marijuana states that have legalized it.

Medical marijuana states believe that cannabis has medical and clinical applications for patients.

These include pain relief, nausea, spasticity, glaucoma, and movement disorders.

There is also emerging research showing that medical marijuana:

Medical Marijuana States - States Where Medical Marijuanas Is Legal - Legalized Medical Cannabis States

What States Is Weed Legal In?

Click any of the states below to see states where weed is legal. 

Also, learn about the current marijuana laws for each state

Is Weed Legal In Alabama?

Weed is not legal in Alabama for recreational use.

Possession of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor.

And a first-time offense can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $6,000.

But weed is legal in Alabama for medical use.

Gov Ivey signed the medical cannabis bill into law in May 2021.

Is Weed Legal In Alaska?

Weed is legal in Alaska for medical use and recreational use.

Alaska residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

You can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

And you have to have a valid government ID to purchase it.

You are allowed to have up to one ounce in possession for recreational use.

Alaska decriminalized the recreational use of cannabis in 2014.

Is Weed Legal In Arizona?

Weed is legal in Arizona for medical use and recreational use.

Recreational cannabis got legalized with Proposition 207.

Arizona residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

You can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

And you have to have a valid government ID to purchase it.

You can have up to 1 ounce without any criminal penalty.

Is Weed Legal In Arkansas?

Weed is not legal in Arkansas for recreational use.

Possession of up to one ounce of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor.

And a first-time offense can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $2,500.

But weed is legal in Arkansas for medical use.

This happened with Amendment 98 in 2016.

Is Weed Legal In California?

Weed is legal in California for medical use and recreational use.

California was the first state to legalize the medical use of marijuana.

Medical weed has been legal in California since 1996.

Recreational weed was legalized in California in 2016.

Gov Brown signed into effect Proposition 64 (The Adult Use of Marijuana Act).

This also legalized the use of CBD products.

California residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

You can have up to 1 ounce without any criminal penalty.

You can grow up to 6 cannabis plants, too.

Is Weed Legal In Colorado?

Weed is legal in Colorado for medical use and recreational use.

Colorado was the first state to legalize the recreational use of marijuana in 2012.

When Gov Hickenlooper signed the Colorado Amendment 64.

Colorado residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

You can have up to 2 ounces without any criminal penalty.

Is Weed Legal In Connecticut?

Weed is legal in Connecticut for medical use and recreational use.

Connecticut decriminalized the recreational use of cannabis in 2021.

When Gov Hutchinson signed Connecticut’s SB 1201.

Connecticut residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

You can have up to 1.5 ounces in public without any criminal penalty.

And up to 5 ounces in your private residence.

Is Weed Legal In Delaware?

Weed is not legal in Delaware for recreational use.

Recreational marijuana is a schedule I drug in Delaware.

Possession of up to one ounce of weed is a civil penalty with a fine of $100.

Possession of 1 ounce to 6.25 ounces is a Class A Misdemeanor in Delaware.

And a first-time offense can lead to 3 months in jail or a max fine of $575.

But weed is legal in Delaware for medical use.

Patients can have up to 6 ounces for medical use at any time.

Delaware’s medical marijuana laws were passed with HB 39 in 2015.

Is Weed Legal In Florida?

Weed is not legal in Florida for recreational use.

Possession of up to 20 grams of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor in Florida.

And a first-time offense can lead to 1 year in jail and a fine of $100.

Florida is one of 19 states that imposes jail time for simple possession.

Possession of 21+ grams is a felony in Florida.

But weed has been legal in Florida for medical use since 2014.

Patients can have up to 4 ounces for medical use at any time.

Is Weed Legal In Georgia?

Weed is not legal in Georgia for recreational use.

Possession of up to 1 ounce of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor in Georgia.

Some cities like Atlanta decriminalized the possession of marijuana up to 1 ounce.

And a first-time offense can lead to 1 year in jail and a fine of $1,000.

Georgia is one of 19 states that imposes jail time for simple possession.

Possession of 1+ ounces is a felony per Georgia’s Controlled Substances Act.

But weed has been legal in Georgia for medical use since 2013.

Is Weed Legal In Hawaii?

Weed is legal in Hawaii for medical use and recreational use.

Hawaii decriminalized the recreational use of cannabis in 2021.

When Gov Hutchinson signed Hawaii’s HB 7, SB 704, and SB 767.

HB 238 allows Hawaii residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

You can have up to 1 ounce without any criminal penalty.

You can grow up to 10 cannabis plants, too.

Is Weed Legal In Idaho?

Weed is not legal in Idaho for recreational use or medical use.

Idaho is one of 13 states that have no medical marijuana laws.

Recreational marijuana is a schedule I drug in Idaho (Uniform Controlled Substances Act).

And less than 3 ounces of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor.

And a first-time offense can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $1,000.

Is Weed Legal In Illinois?

Weed is legal in Illinois for medical use and recreational use.

Illinois residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

You can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

And you have to have a valid government ID to purchase it.

Illinois was the 11th state to legalize recreational weed for adult use.

Gov Pritzker signed the bill in 2019.

And sales began on January 1st, 2020.

Is Weed Legal In Indiana?

Weed is not legal in Indiana for recreational use or medical use.

Indiana is one of 13 states that have no medical marijuana laws.

Recreational marijuana is a schedule I drug in Indiana.

And less than 30 grams of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor.

And a first-time offense can lead to 180 days in jail or a max fine of $1,000.

But CBD with less than 0.3% THC is legal in Indiana.

There are no fines or jail time for CBD with less than 0.3% THC.

Is Weed Legal In Iowa?

Weed is not legal in Iowa for recreational use or medical use.

Iowa is one of 13 states that have no medical marijuana laws.

Recreational marijuana is a schedule I drug in Iowa.

And any amount of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor.

And a first-time offense can lead to 180 days in jail or a max fine of $1,000.

Is Weed Legal In Kansas?

Weed is not legal in Kansas for recreational use or medical use.

Kansas is one of 13 states that have no medical marijuana laws.

Recreational marijuana is a schedule I drug in Kansas.

And any amount of weed is a Class B Misdemeanor.

And a first-time offense can lead to 180 days in jail or a max fine of $1,000.

But CBD with 0% THC is legal in Kansas.

There are no fines or jail time for CBD with 0% THC.

Is Weed Legal In Kentucky?

Weed is not legal in Kentucky for recreational use.

And less than 8 ounces of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor.

But weed is legal in Kentuck for medical use.

The House passed the medical cannabis bill HB 136 in 2022.

And a first-time offense can lead to 45 days in jail or a max fine of $250.

Is Weed Legal In Louisiana?

Weed is not legal in Louisiana for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Louisiana for medical use.

In 2021, Louisiana passed the state legislature for limited decriminalization.

Gov Edwards did this by passing the decriminalization bill HB 652.

Under 14 grams of weed carries zero possibility of jail time and only a $100 fine.

But 15 grams to 2.5 lbs is a Misdemeanor.

And a first-time offense can lead to 180 days in jail or a max fine of $500.

Is Weed Legal In Maine?

Weed is legal in Maine for medical use and recreational use.

Maine residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

You can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

And you have to have a valid government ID to purchase it.

Maine legalized recreational marijuana in 2016.

You can have up to 2.5 ounces without any criminal penalty.

You can grow up to 3 cannabis plants, too.

Is Weed Legal In Maryland?

Weed is not legal in Maryland for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Maryland for medical use.

Gov. Hogan let HB 837 pass without his signature in 2022.

The final decision should get made in 2023.

You can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

And you have to have a valid government ID to purchase it.

Possession of up to 10 grams of weed is a civil penalty with a fine of $100.

Possession of 10 grams to 50lbs is a Class A Misdemeanor in Maryland.

And a first-time offense can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $1,000.

Is Weed Legal In Massachusetts?

Weed is legal in Massachusetts for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Massachusetts since 2012.

Recreational weed was legalized in Massachusetts in 2016.

Gov Whitmer signed into effect Bill H 3818.

This also legalized the use of CBD products.

Massachusetts residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

You can have up to 1 ounce in public without any criminal penalty.

You can have up to 10 ounces in the privacy of your home without any criminal penalty.

You can grow up to 6 cannabis plants, too.

Is Weed Legal In Michigan?

Weed is legal in Michigan for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Michigan since 2012.

Recreational weed was legalized in Michigan in 2018.

Gov Baker signed into effect Proposal 1.

This also legalized the use of CBD products.

Michigan residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

You can have up to 1 ounce in public without any criminal penalty.

You can have up to 10 ounces in the privacy of your home without any criminal penalty.

You can grow up to 6 cannabis plants, too.

Is Weed Legal In Minnesota?

Weed is not legal in Minnesota for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Minnesota for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in Minnesota since 2014.

The Minnesota House of Representatives voted to legalize cannabis

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

Possession of up to 42.5 grams of weed is a Misdemeanor.

A first-time misdemeanor for this Schedule I drug does not get jail time.

But the max fine is $200 for possession of recreational marijuana.

Possession of 42.5 grams to 110 lbs is a felony in Minnesota.

Is Weed Legal In Mississippi?

Weed is not legal in Mississippi for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Mississippi for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in Mississippi since 2022.

The Mississippi Senate passed SB 2095 to legalize medical cannabis

Possession of up to 30 grams of weed is a civil penalty with a fine of $250.

Possession of 30 grams to 250 grams is a felony in Mississippi.

And a first-time conviction can lead to 3 years in jail or a max fine of $1,000.

Is Weed Legal In Missouri?

Weed is not legal in Missouri for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Missouri for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in Missouri since 2018.

Missouri passed Amendment 2 to legalize medical cannabis

Cannabis decriminalization passed in 2014 under Gov Nixon.

Along with legalizing the use of CBD for treatments with the HB 2238.

Possession of up to 10 grams of weed is a misdemeanor in Missouri.

And a first-time conviction carries zero jail time and a max fine of $500.

Possession of 10 grams to 35 grams is a felony in Missouri.

And a first-time conviction can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $2,000.

35+ grams is a felony conviction in Missouri.

Is Weed Legal In Montana?

Weed is legal in Montana for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Montana since 2004.

But the medical marijuana laws limited medical marijuana sales to 3 patients.

The 2016 Bill I-162 revised the medical marijuana laws in Montana.

And allows providers to serve more than 3 patients.

Recreational weed was legalized in Montana in 2021.

Montana changed its marijuana policy with HB 0701.

This also legalized the use of CBD products.

Montana residents 21+ years of age (no minors) can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed retailers in Montana.

You can have up to 1 ounce in public without any criminal penalty.

But, more than 2 ounces land you with a felony charge in Montana.

You can grow up to 2 cannabis plants, too.

Is Weed Legal In Nebraska?

Weed is not legal in Nebraska for recreational use or medical use.

Nebraska is one of 13 states that have no medical marijuana laws.

Gov Ricketts promotes that marijuana is a dangerous drug.

Nebraska has decriminalized recreational marijuana for under an ounce.

Possession of less than 1 ounce gets zero convictions and only a $300 fine.

1 ounce to 1 lb of weed is a Class IV Misdemeanor in Nebraska.

And a first-time offense can lead to 90 days in jail or a max fine of $500.

1+ lbs of weed is a felony that gets 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.

Is Weed Legal In Nevada?

Weed is legal in Nevada for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Nevada since 2000.

Recreational weed was legalized in Nevada in 2018 with Question 2.

Question 2 is the Initiative To Regulate And Tax Marijuana.

Nevada residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

You can have up to 1 ounce without any criminal penalty.

But more than 1 ounce is a misdemeanor with no jail time and a $600 fine.

Is Weed Legal In New Hampshire?

Weed is not legal in New Hampshire for recreational use.

But weed is legal in New Hampshire for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in New Hampshire since 2013.

When Gov Hassan signed approval for legalizing medical marijuana.

New Hampshire marijuana laws got updated for cannabis decriminalization in 2017.

But adult-use legalization has been rejected several times.

Possession of up to 21 grams is a civil violation with no conviction and a $100 fine.

Possession of more than 21 grams of weed is a misdemeanor in New Hampshire.

And a first-time conviction up to one year in jail and a max fine of $350.

Is Weed Legal In New Jersey?

Weed is legal in New Jersey for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in New Jersey since 2010.

Recreational weed was legalized in New Jersey in 2021 with A-1897.

And Gov Murphy appointed a Cannabis Regulatory Commission.

Medical patients can purchase up to 3 ounces every 30 days.

Recreational users can purchase up to 1 ounce at a time.

New Jersey non-minor residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

New Jersey has approved 13 different dispensaries.

You can have up to 6 ounces without any criminal penalty.

But more than 6 ounces is punishable with 1.5 years of jail time and a $25,000 fine.

Is Weed Legal In New Mexico?

Weed is legal in New Mexico for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in New Mexico since 2007 with SB 523.

Recreational weed was legalized in New Mexico in 2021.

Gov Grisham signed the Cannabis Regulation Act into law in 2021.

And she created the Cannabis Control Division to regulate it.

You can have up to 2 ounces without any criminal penalty.

But 2 ounces up to 8 ounces is a misdemeanor in New Mexico.

And gets up to 1 year of jail time and a $1,000 fine.

8+ ounces is a felony that gets up to 1.5 years in jail with a $5,000 fine.

Is Weed Legal In New York?

Weed is legal in New York for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in New York since 2014.

Recreational weed was legalized in New York in 2022 for adult use.

Gov Hochul signed into effect the Marijuana Regulation and Taxation Act.

You can have up to 3 ounces without any criminal penalty.

Possession of 3 ounces up to 8 ounces is a misdemeanor in New York.

And gets you up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

You can grow up to 6 cannabis plants, too.

Is Weed Legal In North Carolina?

Weed is not legal in North Carolina for recreational use.

But weed is legal in North Carolina for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in North Carolina since 2021.

There are strict medical marijuana laws in North Carolina, though.

North Carolina Senate Judiciary Committee approved revisions to SB 711 in 2021.

It’s only available for patients with:

  • debilitating medical conditions
  • terminal illnesses with 6 months left to live
  • hospice patients

For recreational pot, possession of up to 14 grams is a misdemeanor with no jail time and a $200 fine.

Possession of more than 14 grams to 42 grams of weed is also a misdemeanor.

But gets you up to 45 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Medical patients can purchase up to one ounce per day. 

But they cannot buy more than 6 ounces per month. 

Is Weed Legal In North Dakota?

Weed is not legal in North Dakota for recreational use.

But weed is legal in North Dakota for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in North Dakota since 2016.

Medical marijuana laws were passed with Measure 5 in North Dakota.

And Gov Burgum passed marijuana laws to decriminalize weed in 2019.

Possession of up to 14 grams is a criminal violation with no conviction and a $1,000 fine.

Possession of 14 grams up to 500 grams of weed is a misdemeanor in North Dakota.

And a first-time conviction up to 30 days in jail and a max fine of $1,500.

Is Weed Legal In Ohio?

Weed is not legal in Ohio for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Ohio for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in Ohio since 2016.

Medical marijuana laws were passed with HB 523 in Ohio by Gov Kasich.

Possession of up to 100 grams is a misdemeanor in Ohio.

And will get you no jail time, but a $150 fine.

Possession of 100 grams up to 200 grams of weed is up to 30 days in jail and a $250 fine.

Is Weed Legal In Oklahoma?

Weed is not legal in Oklahoma for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Oklahoma for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in Oklahoma since 2018.

When SQ 788 created the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority.

Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor for a first-time offense in Oklahoma.

And will get you up to a year in jail and a $150 fine.

Is Weed Legal In Oregon?

Weed is legal in Oregon for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Oregon since 1998.

Recreational weed was legalized in Oregon in Measure 91 for adult use.

You can have up to 2 ounces without any criminal penalty or fine.

Possession of 2 ounces up to 4 ounces is a misdemeanor in Oregon.

And gets you up to 6 months in jail and a $2,500 fine.

You can grow up to 4 cannabis plants, too.

Is Weed Legal In Pennsylvania?

Weed is not legal in Pennsylvania for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Pennsylvania for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in Pennsylvania since 2016 via HB 3 by Gov Wolf.

Possession of up to 30 grams of weed is a misdemeanor in Pennsylvania.

And a first-time conviction carries up to 30 days jail time and a fine of $500.

Possession of more than 30 grams is a misdemeanor in Pennsylvania, too.

But can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $5,000.

Is Weed Legal In Rhode Island?

Weed is legal in Rhode Island for medical use and recreational use.

Rhode Island decriminalized the recreational use of cannabis in 2022 with S 2430.

Gov McKee signed the Rhode Island Cannabis Act.

Which aims to legalize, regulate, and tax cannabis in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

You can have up to 1 ounce without any criminal penalty or fine.

1 ounce up to 2.2 lbs is a misdemeanor with up to 1 year in jail and a $500 fine.

Is Weed Legal In South Carolina?

Weed is not legal in South Carolina for recreational use or medical use.

South Carolina is one of 13 states that have no medical marijuana laws.

In 2022, the Senate passed a new bill for medical marijuana laws.

But the South Carolina Compassionate Care Act died on the House floor.

Recreational marijuana is a schedule I drug in South Carolina.

And less than 1 ounce of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor.

A first-time offense can lead to 30 days in jail or a max fine of $200.

Subsequent offenses get you up to 1 year in jail and a $2,000 fine.

Is Weed Legal In South Dakota?

Weed is not legal in South Dakota for recreational use.

But weed is legal in South Dakota for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in South Dakota since 2021 via Measure 26.

Possession of up to 2 ounces of weed is a misdemeanor in South Dakota.

And a first-time conviction carries up to 1 year jail time and a fine of $2,000.

Possession of more than 2 ounces is a felony in South Dakota.

And these felonies can result in up to 15 years in prison and a $30,000 fine.

Depending on the quantity of marijuana in possession.

Is Weed Legal In Tennessee?

Weed is not legal in Tennessee for recreational use or medical use.

Tennessee is one of 13 states that have no medical marijuana laws.

Recreational marijuana is a schedule I drug in Tennessee.

And less than 14 grams of weed is a Class A Misdemeanor in Tennessee.

A first-time offense can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $250.

Subsequent offenses gets you up to 1 year in jail and a $500 fine.

Gov Haslam signed HB 1478, which eliminated felony charges for 3+ convictions.

Is Weed Legal In Texas?

Weed is not legal in Texas for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Texas for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in Texas since 2015.

This was via Texas’s Compassionate-Use Program.

In 2019, Texas expanded their medical marijuana laws to include more medical conditions.

Possession of up to 2 ounces of weed is a misdemeanor in Texas.

And a first-time conviction carries up to 180 days of jail time and a fine of $2,000.

Possession of more than 2 ounces to 4 ounces is a misdemeanor in Texas, too.

But can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $4,000.

Is Weed Legal In Utah?

Weed is not legal in Utah for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Utah for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in Utah since 2018 via Proposition 2.

This was via Utah’s Medical Cannabis Act.

Possession of up to 1 ounce of weed is a misdemeanor in Utah.

And a first-time conviction carries up to 180 days of jail time and a fine of $1,000.

Possession more than 1 ounce to 1 lb is a misdemeanor in Utah, too.

But can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $2,500.

Is Weed Legal In Vermont?

Weed is legal in Vermont for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Vermont since 2004.

Gov Douglas passed Senate Bill 76 in 2004 for medical cannabis.

Recreational weed was legalized in Vermont in 2018 with S 54 for adult use.

Vermont residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

You can have up to 1 ounce without any criminal penalty.

But more than 1 ounce is a misdemeanor with up to 6 months jail time and a $500 fine.

Is Weed Legal In Virginia?

Weed is legal in Virginia for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Virginia since 2015.

Gov McAuliffe passed SB 1445 in 2015 for medical cannabis.

Recreational weed was legalized in Virginia in 2021 with HB 2312.

Virginia became the first state in the south to legalize weed for adult use.

Vermont residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

You can have up to 1 ounce without any criminal penalty.

But up to 1 lb is a civil violation with a $25 fine.

You can also have up to 4 weed plants without any criminal charges.

Is Weed Legal In Washington?

Weed is legal in Washington for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Washington since 1998 with I 692.

Recreational weed was legalized in Washington in 2012 with I 502.

Washington residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

You can have up to 1 ounce in private without any criminal penalty.

But 1 ounce or less of public consumption is a civil penalty of a $100 fine.

1 ounce to 40 grams in any setting is a misdemeanor with a minimum of 24 hours in jail.

And this misdemeanor can get you up to 90 days in jail and $1,000 in fines.

Is Weed Legal In Washington, D.C.?

Weed is legal in Washington, D.C. for medical use and recreational use.

Medical weed has been legal in Washington, D.C. since 1998 with Initiative 59.

Initiative 59 was known as the Use of Marijuana for Medical Treatment.

Recreational weed was legalized in Washington, D.C. in 2014.

With the Legalization of Possession of Marijuana for Personal Use Initiative.

Washington, D.C. residents 21+ years of age can purchase weed legally.

But, you can only legally buy it from licensed dispensaries.

You can have up to 2 ounces in private without any criminal penalty.

And you can have up to 6 plants without criminal or civil penalties.

But 2 ounces or less of public consumption is a misdemeanor in Washington, D.C.

And that lands you with a “cite and release” without any fines.

More than 2 ounces gets you up to 6 months in jail and a $1,00 fine.

Is Weed Legal In West Virginia?

Weed is not legal in West Virginia for recreational use.

But weed is legal in West Virginia for medical use.

Medical weed has been legal in West Virginia since 2017 via SB 386.

Possession of any amount of weed is a misdemeanor in West Virginia.

And a conviction carries up to 180 days jail time and a fine of $1,000.

Is Weed Legal In Wisconsin?

Weed is not legal in Wisconsin for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Wisconsin for medical use, but only in low-THC CBD oils.

These medical marijuana laws in Wisconsin are laid out in Act 267 in 2014.

Possession of any amount of weed is a misdemeanor in Wisconsin.

And a conviction carries up to 180 days of jail time and a fine of $1,000.

A second conviction of any amount is a felony charge.

And lands you with up to 3.5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.

Is Weed Legal In Wyoming?

Weed is not legal in Wyoming for recreational use or medical use.

Wyoming is one of 13 states that have no medical marijuana laws.

Wyoming is one of the strictest states on marijuana laws.

Someone under the influence of marijuana gets a misdemeanor.

And gets up to 6 months in jail and a $750 fine.

And less than 3 ounces of weed is a Misdemeanor.

And a first-time offense can lead to 1 year in jail or a max fine of $1,000.

Is Weed Federally Legal?

Weed is not federally legal in the U.S.

On a federal level, weed is a Schedule I drug.

The Federal Government believes that it:

  • has zero medical use
  • has a high potential for drug abuse

They will not legalize medical marijuana federally any time soon.

Americans doing any of the following is not federally legal with weed:

  • possessing
  • cultivating
  • distributing

This includes the following:

  • consuming edibles
  • using concentrates
  • purchasing via retail sales or the black market

States, where weed is legal, are in direct violation of federal marijuana laws.

But the federal government allows citizens to operate under state laws.

What Does Decriminalization Of Weed Mean?

Decriminalization of weed means reducing the penalties for a conviction.

Or reclassifying a criminal offense into a civil offense.

(i.e., making a misdemeanor charge turn into just a fine.)

Generally, decriminalization of weed is for first-time offenders.

It removes the possibility of jail time for a first-time offense.

Decriminalization of weed gets seen as a middle ground.

Between legalization and a strict drug policy that outlaws it completely.

Get A FREE Consultation!
We run out of free consultations every month. Sign up to make sure you get your free consultation. (Free $350 value.)
Share This Post With Someone Who Needs To See It

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. There may be more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.