The Hive Law

Is Weed Legal In Mississippi? (Mississippi Marijuana Laws)

Is Weed Legal In Mississippi - Mississippi Medical Marijuana - Is Marijuana Legal In Mississippi - Mississippi Weed Laws

Is weed legal in Mississippi?

This article is going to cover:

  • Mississippi marijuana laws
  • legalization of recreational marijuana
  • medical marijuana legalization
  • House and Senate Bills for Mississippi weed laws
Get A FREE Consultation!
We run out of free consultations every month. Sign up to make sure you get your free consultation. (Free $350 value.)

Is Weed Legal In Mississippi?

Weed is not legal in Mississippi for recreational use.

But weed is legal in Mississippi for medical use.

Mississippi Weed Laws

Let’s look at the different types of Mississippi weed laws. 

OffensePenaltiesJail TimeMax Fines
Possession
Up to 30 grams (1st offense) NoneNone$250
Up to 30 grams (2nd offense) Misdemeanor2 months$250
Up to 30 grams (3+ offenses) Misdemeanor6 months$1,000
30 – 250 gramsFelony3 years$1,000
250 – 500 gramsFelony8 years$50,000
500 – 1,000 gramFelony16 years$250,000
1,000 – 5,000 gramsFelony24 years$500,000
5,000+ gramsFelony30 years$1,000,000
Sale Or Distribution
Up to 30 grams Felony3 years$3,000
30 – 250 gramsFelony5 years$5,000
250 – 500 gramsFelony10 years$15,000
500+ gramsFelony20 years$20,000
Cultivation
Same As Possession & Selling
Hash & Concentrates
Possession of up to 0.1 gramsMisdemeanor / Felony1 year$1,000
Possession 0.1 g - 2 gFelony 3 years$50,000
Possession 2 g – 10 gFelony8 years$250,000
Possession 10 g – 30 gFelony20 years$500,000
Possession 30+ gFelony30 years$1,000,000
Selling Any AmountFelony30 years$1,000,000
Trafficking Any AmountFelony30 years (mandatory)$1,000,000

Cannabis Possession Laws

These are the marijuana laws for personal possession of marijuana.

Possessing up to 30 grams of marijuana (first offense) gets you:

  • no jail time
  • no criminal charges
  • up to $250 in fines

Possessing up to 30 grams of marijuana (second offense) is a misdemeanor with:

  • mandatory 5 days in jail
  • up to 180 days in jail
  • up to $1,000 in fines

Possessing 30 – 250 grams is a felony with:

  • up to 3 years in jail
  • up to $1,000 in fines

Possessing 250 – 500 grams is a felony with:

  • mandatory 2 years in jail
  • up to 8 years in jail
  • up to $50,000 in fines

Possessing 500 – 1,000 grams is a felony with:

  • mandatory 4 years in jail
  • up to 16 years in jail
  • up to $250,000 in fines

Possessing 1,000 – 5,000 grams is a felony with:

  • mandatory 6 years in jail
  • up to 24 years in jail
  • up to $500,000 in fines

Possessing 5,000+ grams is a felony with:

  • mandatory 10 years in jail
  • up to 30 years in jail
  • up to $1,000,000 in fines

Related: How Many People Are In Jail For Weed

Selling Marijuana In Mississippi

Selling any amount of marijuana in the state of Mississippi is a felony.

Selling up to 30 grams of marijuana is a felony with:

  • up to 3 years in jail
  • up to $3,000 in fines

Selling 30 – 250 grams is a felony with:

  • up to 5 years in jail
  • up to $5,000 in fines

Selling 250 – 500 grams is a felony with:

  • up to 10 years in jail
  • up to $15,000 in fines

Selling 500+ grams is a felony with:

  • up to 20 years in jail
  • up to $20,000 in fines

Cannabis Cultivation Laws

Punishment for growers cultivating cannabis in Mississippi gets based on their weight.

The weights corresponds with the Possession and Selling sections.

Possession Of Hash And THC Concentrates

Adult use of hash is illegal in Mississippi.

Possessing up to 0.1 grams is a misdemeanor or a felony with:

  • up to 1 year in jail
  • up to $1,000 in fines

Possessing 0.1 – 2 grams is a felony with:

  • up to 3 years in jail
  • up to $50,000 in fines

Possessing 2 – 10 grams is a felony with:

  • up to 8 years in jail
  • up to $250,000 in fines

Possessing 10 – 30 grams is a felony with:

  • up to 20 years in jail
  • up to $500,000 in fines

Possessing 30+ grams is a felony with:

  • up to 30 years in jail
  • up to $1,000,000 in fines

Selling any amount of hash is a felony with:

  • up to 30 years in jail
  • up to $1,000,000 in fines

Trafficking any amount of hash is a felony with:

  • mandatory 30 years in jail
  • up to $1,000,000 in fines

Cannabis Paraphernalia

Possession or selling of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor in Mississippi.

You will get up to 6 months in jail and a $500 fine.

Mississippi Marijuana Decriminalization

Mississippi was the 31st state to pass cannabis laws that decriminalize marijuana.

Decriminalization is eliminating criminal penalties for up to 30 grams of marijuana.

Is Marijuana Legal In Mississippi?

This section is covering whether weed is legal in Mississippi for:

  • recreational use
  • medical use

Is Recreational Weed Legal In Mississippi?

Is weed legal in Mississippi for recreational use?

No, weed is not legal in Mississippi for recreational use.

Possession of 30+ grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor or felony in Mississippi.

Less than 30 grams of marijuana in Mississippi got decriminalized, though.

Is Medical Marijuana Legal In Mississippi?

Is weed legal in Mississippi for medical use?

Yes, weed is legal in Mississippi for medical use as of 2022.

Patients and caregivers can purchase up to 3.5 grams of marijuana per day.

Purchasing and possession of marijuana by the caregiver is allowed per Mississippi laws.

Patients can buy up to the following amounts per day:

  • 3.5 grams of marijuana
  • 1 gram of THC concentrate
  • products with 100 milligrams of infused THC

Medical weed has been legal in Mississippi since 2022.

When Gov. Tate Reeves signed approval for legalizing medical marijuana.

The qualifying conditions for a medical card in Mississippi are:

  • dementia
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • ALS
  • Autism
  • Cachexia (wasting disease)
  • cancer
  • chronic pain
  • Crohn’s disease
  • glaucoma
  • hepatitis
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • muscular dystrophy
  • neuropathy
  • seizures
  • severe and persistent muscle spasms
  • severe or intractable nausea
  • spastic quadriplegia 
  • spinal cord disease
  • spinal cord severe injury
  • pain that’s not responsive to opioids 
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • PTSD
  • sickle cell disease
  • ulcerative colitis

Medical marijuana laws allow patients and caregivers to have a 30 days supply at a time.

Patients are not allowed to grow their own weed for medical use.

This falls under the laws on cultivation for personal use mentioned above.

They are only able to purchase medical cannabis from licensed dispensaries.

Purchasing cannabis outside of a licensed dispensary is illegal for Mississippi residents.

Marijuana Legalization Bills For Mississippi

These are Mississippi’s weed legalization bills.

Related: Marijuana Legality By State

2014 - House Bill 1231

This ballot initiative‘s bill was named Harper Grace’s Law under the Mississippi code.

It got named after a girl that had a severe form of epilepsy.

This bill gave protections to patients who had debilitating epileptic medical conditions.

It also gave protection to parents and caregivers for possession.

This bill legalized the use of CBD oils and resins that contained no more than 0.5% THC.

2020 - Initiative 65

Mississippi voters approved Initiative 65 in the November 2020 elections.

This was the first time the use of cannabis got approved for specific medical conditions.

This was a citizen-initiated process to legalize medical cannabis.

This medical marijuana program set up the processes for:

  • physicians to recommend medical marijuana
  • dispensaries to distribute medical marijuana
  • patients, caregivers, and parents to purchase and use medical marijuana

The Department of Health had to set up the entire system.

They were responsible for:

  • patient ID cards
  • medical dispensary licensing

But, Initiative 65 did not turn into a bill that legalized medical marijuana in Mississippi.

The lawmakers found the petition invalid in the State Supreme Court in the initiative process.

Because petitions need an equal percentage of signatures from the 5 congressional districts.

And only 4 of the 5 districts signed off on Initiative 65.

2022 - Senate Bill 2095

In 2022, Republican Gov. Tate Reeves signed the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act.

Mississippi medical marijuana legalization was with Senate Bill 2095.

This was the first time that state legislatures passed the medical marijuana bill in Mississippi.

This allows medical patients to purchase up to the following amounts per day:

  • 3.5 grams of marijuana
  • 1 gram of THC concentrate
  • products with 100 milligrams of infused THC

The Mississippi Department of Health got designated to oversee:

  • licensing of facilities for testing, research, cultivation, and production
  • issuing ID cards for patients, nonresidents, and caregivers
  • registering healthcare practitioners
  • managing the seed-to-sale tracking system
  • regulate the sale of cannabis for medical use
Get A FREE Consultation!
We run out of free consultations every month. Sign up to make sure you get your free consultation. (Free $350 value.)
Share This Post With Someone Who Needs To See It

If you’re interested in what states weed is legal in, here’s a list of all the states.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. There may be more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.